top of page

Sharm El Sheik, a trip into my past

Updated: Sep 29, 2023

Sometimes I wonder where all my passion for travel comes from. As probably many traits of my character, I believe it was passed on to me by my parents. Even before they got married, they had already traveled extensively, between India, Mexico and Africa. So, since we were little, they decided to take us around the world with them. When I was only six years old, they took me and my sisters to Egypt.

My sister, my father and me

At that time, the children still didn't need a passport, so we were registered with my mother's. We went to Sharm-el-Sheik when it was winter in Italy, to escape the cold enjoy the sun of Egypt. We stayed in a big resort on the coast, but did some excursions, which introduced me to the life of the Bedouins and the desert. It was therefore for me an experince very rich in emotions.


Riding a Dromedary

One of the biggest doubts of children and adults is the difference between Camel and Dromedary. I remember when I was a child, I was convinced that camels had two humps and lived in the desert of Arab countries. In reality, camels have two humps and live in China, and those found in North Africa, India and the Arabian Peninsula are Dromedaries.

My sister Ceci and I

It was super exciting when I had the chance to ride one for real. The strangest thing was the moment it got up from the ground, lifting the rear legs first and then the front ones, making me suddenly jump forward and then find myself two meters from the ground.

Bedouin camp in the desert

Tour on a quad in the desert

The second activity that my parents brought us to do and that I remember most was the quad ride. The joy of travelling as a child is that you don't deal with the organisation of these activities, so I simply lived those moments as special and I remenence about.

The Bedouin camp

What I remember is the happiness and adrenaline I felt while my father put my sister and I on the big four-wheeled motorcycle, covered with sheets and glasses to avoid the sand that would have invaded us from head to toe some moments later.

Tour in Quad

The Red Sea's Barrier Reef

Another great thing that characterized Egypt was the Coral Reef. From the rooms of the resort we could reach the Red Sea in a few minutes by foot. I was too small to enter in the water diving, but I did a little snorkeling and it was a very cool experience!

Shark-el-Sheik Resort

Following this experience, I dreamt of working one day in a resort like this. Last year by finding an internship in the Bahia Principe hotel in Mexico and the first experience of diving during my trip to Jordan this winter.

click on the little heart if you enjoyed this article!

42 views0 comments

Which other countries did I visit?
Click here to see the map!

Screenshot (8)_edited.webp
Progetto%20senza%20titolo(1)_edited.png
bottom of page